Keynote Speakers
Program Schedule
Area Attractions
Important Dates
Paper Submission
Student Volunteers

STUDENT RATE AVAILABLE for a limited number of hotel rooms! First come, first served; $79/night plus tax. Email Cathy Larson to request a room.


Are you planning to schedule a committee or other meeting during JCDL 2004?
To ensure meeting room availability, please contact Cathy Larson as soon as possible. Space is available on a first-come, first-served basis and is limited, so reserve early!


The JCDL Organizing Committee is pleased to announce the following Best Paper Awards for the authors of JCDL 2004 papers and posters. Awards were presented at the conclusion of the Poster and Demo Reception on Tuesday, June 8. Congratulations to all award winners!
1) Vannevar Bush Best Paper Award (selected by the JCDL Program Committee):
"Automatic Organization for Digital Photographs with Geographic Coordinates"
By Mor Naaman, Yee Jiun Song, Andreas Paepcke, and Hector Garcia-Molina (Contact author:
2) International Best Paper Award (sponsored by the University of Arizona):
"Realistic books: A bizarre homage to an obsolete medium?"
By Yi-Chun Chu, David Bainbridge, Matt Jones and Ian H. Witten (Contact author:
3) Student Best Paper Award (sponsored by the IEEE-CS Tech. Committee on Digital Libraries):
"The Effectiveness of Automatically Structured Queries in Digital Libraries"
By Marcos André Gonçalves, Edward A. Fox, Aaron Krowne, Pavel Calado, Alberto H.F. Laender Altigran S. da Silva, and Berthier Ribeiro-Neto (Contact author:
4) Best Poster Award (sponsored by the University of Arizona):
"All in the Family? A Co-Authorship Analysis of JCDL Conferences (1994-2003)"
Xiaoming Liu, Johan Bollen, Michael L. Nelson, and Herbert Van de Sompel (Contact author:


Tucson, Arizona | 3-21-2003 © Department of MIS, U of A. All Rights Reserved.